Yesterday was the end of month 5.

I’ll post a separate note on relief from brackets/wires cutting into the inside cheek. Oy. The short story: go to your ortho and get the wire clipped, and use wax.

I can’t wait to get these off and bite into a crunchy pizza crust and chomp on some walnuts and almonds.

OK. Enough of whining. After all, I did elect to do this myself.

This is what I learned about what’s going on with my Damon wires.
The wires they have in now are helping my teeth get a good arch–in other words, helping my teeth line up nicely on the top and the bottom. Since my teeth were already pretty straight, this is a matter of lining up the couple of teeth that had turned in (and were responsible for my bite changing and requiring braces again) and rotating one of the molars that’s at an angle.

The next set of wires–which I hope to get in a month or two–will be the last set, and will help move my top and bottom teach relative to each other to help with my bite (which right now are right on top of each other, rather than the top teeth in front of the bottom.)

Apparently, with the last set of wires, I’ll need to wear rubber bands; I wonder what that means? Probably a lot of discomfort. Or maybe I’ll get cute colored ones.

At any rate, almost half way through! Yippee!

